10 Things I wish I had known when I began my programming journey

10 Things I wish I had known when I began my programming journey

ยท

4 min read

Introduction


While it is easy to learn to code today, It is equally easy to fall off, especially as a self-taught developer. Sorry to disappoint you; it cuts both ways. I had little to no guidance or mentorship when I began my programming journey, which I believe you lack too.

Anybody new to programming or on the verge of switching careers to software engineering deserves some form of guidance or mentorship from experienced developers in the industry. At some point in my journey, I gave up because I had no idea what to do at the time. I had to learn the hard way, which is not the best, especially for a newbie.

This article will discuss ten things I wish I had known when I began my programming journey. These things, I believe, will help you make better decisions now and in the future.

Here are 10 Things I wish I knew


1. You don't need to be a genius to become a software engineer

Software engineering is not rocket science. The idea that every software engineer/developer is a genius is mythical. Most people outside the tech space assume that all software engineers are geniuses and that one has to be a genius to become a software engineer. This may not be the case. In fact, 70% to 80% of software engineers are average engineers. But they still get the work done anyway. Don't let that discourage you from bringing your dreams to life. Anybody who puts their mind to it can become a software engineer/developer.

2. You don't need a college degree

Today, employers lookout for what you can do and your potential rather than just your computer science degree when it comes to employing software engineers. Nonetheless, Holding a college degree is still beneficial for job haunting. However, you don't need it to become a software engineer. There are enormous resources on the internet at your disposal, including free and paid online courses, online communities and articles etc. Moreover, you can get a decent job with a good salary without a degree; you only need to develop your skills by building projects.

3. It takes consistency and some patience to get there

As Dwayne Johnson said, "Success isn't always about greatness. It's about consistency. Consistent hard work leads to success. Greatness will come.".There are no shortcuts in software engineering; just like any other profession, it takes consistent practice and patience to be good at it. Coding two every day is far better than coding eight a day in two weeks.

4. Tech is not an avenue to make quick money.

Sorry to disappoint you, but you're not going to make six figures in your first three months. It takes a lot of experience to get to that level. Most software engineers earn decent salaries; that is indisputable; however, the notion that getting into programming guarantees six figures salary is inaccurate. The truth is, your skill set and your experience in the industry determine your pay. So instead of worrying about the money, focus on becoming a better developer, and the money will follow.

5. Get the basics right

As the saying goes, slow and steady wins the race. Don't rush through the basics simply because you want to start building cool projects. Never skip the basics because you can not build anything without a solid foundation. I had a similar experience initially, where I got stuck in tutorial hell for several months. I couldn't do anything on my own without a tutorial. I was focused on building cool projects even though I didn't understand what most of the code did. This habit will only slow down your progress.

6. Explore other areas in tech.

Software engineering is not the only field in tech. You might be better off in other areas other than SE/SD. It happens, so explore.

7. One thing at a time

As a beginner, take one step at a time. There's no point in learning two programming languages at the same time. You're only going to get confused. So always remember to take one step at a time and enjoy the process.

8. Google is your friend

Use Google to your advantage. Google anything if you need help. It's normal for software developers to look up staff.

9. Start small

Start small and build momentum. Start by building small projects like a calculator, a todo-list, etc. Start small and build on your knowledge.

10. You will never know everything

Every developer suffers from FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) from time to time. Even so, software engineering is too broad to know everything. All you need to know is what is required for whatever you're building at the time.

Final Thoughts


Teaching yourself to code is not an easy thing to do hence requires some form of mentorship to get things right. Therefore, I edge you to find someone who has been in the industry for a while and ask them to guide you. That said, I wish you all the best in your journey.

Thanks for reading - Bye for now.

ย